Yummy…

I have been meaning, for a long time, to make my Papa’s granola. He makes the best, healthy granola. So last night, I decided to make a batch. I am going to try to keep some all the time. It is so much better than buying the granola in a box: cheaper and you actually know what’s going in it.

picture.jpg

My 15 year old niece, Kayla, was here last night, hanging out. There are moments with her that I think, “I wonder how crazy she thinks I am…” One of those was when the granola came out of the oven (she thinks it’s strange that I make anything homemade) and I started taking tons of pictures of it to get just the right light for this shot. I looked over and she was just staring at me like I was someone she didn’t even know. Then she just said, “I’m used to it.” And so, I’m sure she is….

Anyways, here is the recipe, in case you feel the need to be weird like me and make your own granola…

Papa’s Walnut Molasses Granola

Ingredients:

3 c. rolled oats

1 c. wheat germ

1/2 c. chopped walnuts

1/2 c. raisins

1/2 c. dried cranberries

1/4 c. sesame seeds

2 T. Molasses

1 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F

2. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix thoroughly

3. Transfer to a 9×13 in. baking dish

4. Bake for 25 minutes, turning often

5. Granola should look golden brown.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Yummy…

  1. You guys are so cute–this is my favorite picture- mom and baby sleeping.
    Great-grandma and grandpa will be at the restaurant by 11am on Thursday. Hope to see you three there.
    Love G-V

  2. oh my goodness, i cannot tell you how cool that is. jamie and i were talking the other day about making our own granola bars, and how easy it has to be. thanks for posting the recipe, i’m going to have to try it!

Leave a Reply

