Sick Days & Cuddly Things

This is what every table in my house has looked like for the past week. We have all been feeling a little yucky. Scarlet is getting over croupiness. She had croup once before and we were total newbs and didn’t have any idea what to do. This time we immediately lathered her in Vicks, gave her tylenol, gave her tons of White Grape Juice, and made sure she had her humidifier. She slept through the night every single night. YAY for knowing how to handle something as a new parent! That really is exciting when there are so many other things that we constantly have to just get wisdom and find out what God wants us to do in every situation. That, I believe, is the hardest part of parenting. Before she was born, I thought I knew how I would handle every situation. But really, I had no idea. Things come up and we try our best to do what is best for our baby or we try to see what God has for her in the future and how we can be an asset to that. Anyways…(rambling again)

In the past week she has attached herself to a cute little brown dog. This sweet little dog has a very special spot in my heart. When I was going through a hard time, about 5 years and 6 months ago (to be exact) my Nana gave my this dog to hug when I was sad. Over the past few years he’s gotten a lot of hugs. My Nana is one of the most beautiful people I know. She is one of those people that lights up a room when she walks in. I have so many memories or stories of her making a day or a time special for different people. The first time Joseph saw this was this past Thanksgiving. We drove 8 hours to see some family and she and my sweet Shannon cooked thanksgiving dinner for us. She worked so hard to make that day special. Joseph just looked at me at one point and said, “Now I know what you mean.” She just makes you feel warm inside. Now, every morning I go into Scarlet’s room I see her curled up with that dog and it makes me miss my Nana. There is no better stuffed animal she could have picked.

Leave a Reply

