This word I’ve never heard…Quiverfull

First off, before I forget, I promise that I will begin again taking pictures very soon. I have located my camera and my charger, but still in search of the cord that connects it to the computer. Phew. That move was pretty crazy.

Just to update you (because you care lol) on the amount of boxes in my house, there are still boxes lining the walls. Many of the giant bags of stuff that I have no idea what they contain are sitting on our porch to be out of the way. I decided to put off the unpacking and set of our Christmas stuff instead. Way more important right? We didn’t think Scarlet would care much if we had a tree this year, oh but she did. She wakes up every morning saying, “Twee!” and pointing to our living room. Right this moment she is taking ornaments off and showing them to me and then putting them back. So cute. Luckily, I had some adorable non-breakable type ornaments that went on the bottom half of the tree. 🙂 

So, yesterday, after I posted that post, I found this one, and to be honest I didn’t know how to ask this question and put it any better than she did. She totally got me thinking about the subject of contraceptives and taking control of your own life, control that God should probably have. I don’t know how I feel about all this. Before I make a decision I was wondering if there is a side to all of this that hasn’t been said. The idea of a “Quiverfull” while being very novel pretty much made my stomach all knotted up. 

Quiverfull meaning:

Psalm 127:3-5 

 3 Sons are a heritage from the LORD, 
       children a reward from him.

 4 Like arrows in the hands of a warrior 
       are sons born in one’s youth.

 5 Blessed is the man 
       whose quiver is full of them. 
       They will not be put to shame 
       when they contend with their enemies in the gate.

Pretty much, this scripture now weirds me out. There is nothing in the Bible about contraceptive, even the natural way that probably was known about in that day. But there are lots of scriptures like this. 

Then there is the whole thing (that she didn’t mention) about how American chirstians are basically being outbreed by the Islam religion. Because they do not use any contraception. So, basically they are building a larger religion from the ground up. They don’t go seek out and “witness” Islam to the world, they birth them and raise them. Makes you think about how our christian society got to be so set on “evangelizing” the world and not so set on raising Godly children to be here when we are gone, to carry on the torch, if you will. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not against evangelizing by any means. God asked us to do that, but it’s when that takes preference over the “arrows” that He gave us. 

This all is rolling around in my brain today. I talked with Joseph and he suprised me. He said he wholeheartedly agrees with her and that he has always had a bad feeling about contraceptives. Totally suprised me. So now, with lots of research, prayer, and counsel I must form some sort of idea of how I feel about all of this. 

If you have the time, pop over there and take a look at her post. (there is a post on that post that you have to connect to to really get the full idea) Then let me know what you think. I’d love to hear what everyone has to say. 

Happy Tuesday!

7 thoughts on “This word I’ve never heard…Quiverfull

  1. Definitely an interesting and controversial topic, as she said. My stance on contraception is that the decision to employ them or not, and then what type (Natural planning or barrier) to employ if you decide to go that route is best decided on a family to family basis, as they pray on the issue. I can easily agree that if you feel God leading you to forgo any contraception then you should, and that (in said case) He will in fact open/close your womb according to the right timing. However, I also think that if your faith is not strong enough to where you can (relatively) comfortably rely on that, don’t do it just because someone you know is. I think that before a couple decides to rely solely on their faith to determine when/if they get pregnant, they should know that they can rely/have relied solely on their faith in determining the outcome of other situations.

    Also – and I suppose it can be inferred – it is my opinion that if a family doesn’t feel led at all to go that route, and feels that it is acceptable to use contraception, that is fine with me as well.

  2. Ok… now you’re starting to sound like a catholic. haha. I’m kidding.

    the only problem with deciding to obstain from contraceptives, is the inevitable fact that it’s not as easy to support children financially as it was even 40 years ago. That HAS to be taken into consideration… trust me… I know this from personal experience! I never want to rely on the government or even outsiders as close as family members to help support my unwillingness to make my husband wear a condom. & having lots of children to provide for & limited money causes stress on even the best of marriages.

    I DEFINTELY agree with the idea that Christians are being over populated because of our ‘2.5 children’ standard as Americans. I just don’t know if I agree that ‘letting God determine how many children you conceive’ is very mature/smart. If that were the case, every couple would birth 10 children or more. We were made to reproduce, so that’s what our bodies are designed for. I’m not sure that means that we should use that beautiful ability all of the time.

    I also agree with being VERY picky about what type of hormones you are putting into your body to prevent pregnancy, but this day & age. I had these exact concerns & decided to do the ‘family planning’ method… & well… my womb at the moment is proof that it isn’t as effect as I thought… & I was super educated about the issue & how to do it successfully.

  3. Let me think about how to share my opinion. I mean I realize what Joe says however, look at the woman with a lot of kids and looks like she’s going out of her mind bc it’s a lot and it costs much to raise children. At what point do we have control also? you know? I’ll be back…. to be continued…

  4. I was so involved in this blog and her blog that two hours have gone by and I havent accompished anything at work. On the way side, considering I was able to read for two hours pretty much uninterupted is a sign in itself. Anyway, I have never ever thought about this. What a grand point of view, so much faith it entales! I am overwhelmed to have to agree with her. It makes so much sence, now getting to the same place as she is with being so comfprtable with it is another obstacle all together, oh yeah, and Chris has a say to I suppose. I also agree that it is up to the husband and wife as to what is going to be the correct method for them, but I also agree with the fact that we can grow our faith by having us some more babies! Alot to think about and alot to pray over.

  5. Pingback: i got nothin’ « Guiding Beauty

  6. I’m praying for you… God will show you how to use your faith.
    I chose to use the birth control and have faith that He would overrule it if He wanted to … which He did. 🙂 Four amazing times.

  7. I just got around to reviewing your comments and checking out this post. I’m glad that my post spoke to you – it looks as if it’s caused a lot of thinking and praying and more than anything, I’m grateful for that!
    I must address the idea that allowing God control over our wombs is immature/not smart. You see, the problem is, that mindset implies that God is not smart enough to handle it for us. Is he not the Creator of the universe and everything in it? He has a grand plan for each and every life. Personally, I do not believe in the spirit of poverty. The Lord has set us free from poverty, and I can live in that promise by trusting him wholeheartedly with my womb. He knows exactly how much money we need to care for each and every child that he so lovingly creates within our bodies. He would never provide a child and then leave the parents helpless to care for it. If I limited the amount of children I conceive according to such trivial issues such as money, I feel like it would be the same thing as saying to God, “You know, I’m not so sure you’re capable of providing for our needs, so I’m just gonna go ahead and take care of it for you.” 🙂 Do you see what I mean?
    I just wanted to add that in there. I pray that the Lord speaks clearly to you regarding this issue! Like I said in my post, I do not believe our salvation depends on what we do with this decision (of course). I do believe, however, that the more we surrender to God, the more freedom we will experience. He really does have it all under control! And I believe he longs for us to end that tug-of-war – to acknowledge that he’s the Orchestrater of Life, and to leave it safely in his hands!

Leave a Reply

