A Day in the Life of Edison

Edison’s Day

I couldn’t get the video to come over to my place so you’ll have to go there to see it. πŸ™‚ Sorry.

I have recently put much effort into finding out what exactly our alternative parenting style looks like. Joseph and I have had many conversations about the age of 12 being “the age of accountability” and what exactly our children will need from us in order to get them ready for that age. We have researched and seen the amazing affects of many of the different styles of schooling floating around out there. I haven’t found anything that we completely agree with, but Montessori has come the closest to the direction we believe we should head in.

I watched this video in total shock. This little guy is only two months older than Scarlet. One thing that caught my eye is how involved this daily process is, not just for the child but for the parents as well. Scarlet gets a lot of attention I am realizing how much time we spend trying to occupy her time while we are cooking or cleaning. She always gets frustrated with not being involved in the process of everyday life.

This week I am going to experiment with putting her dishes and her art supplies down on a shelf where she can get to them. This is the only place I have found on the web to give any good amount of information. Most of my information has been from books and other bloggers. So, I am also on a hunt to find some good resources for teaching toddlers. Sew Liberated has also started a Meet Up for Alternative Parents and their kiddos. I would like to see Scarlet consistently be around other children who are learning at an early age. I feel like we might be stifling her a little by being here in the house all day with no interaction but Macky and I. She seems to be quite the social butterfly.

Hopefully I’ll get my camera back into the swing of things and snap some pictures of our progress this week. Today, we’re off to the Birth Center to here this sweet baby’s heartbeat. πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful Thursday!

Leave a Reply

