:: Looking Forward ::

As I am getting back in the groove around here, I am also learning to prepare ahead, to the season coming up. There are many things in the works around here to plan for the colder season. You’ll get a sneak peak of a few over the next few days. 

The very first of the winter-wear for the season:

DSCF6104Adelai’s Winter Hat

I did this with no pattern (because I couldn’t find what I wanted) and it turned out okay. I pretty much just measured his head and did a swatch until I got it right and then knit until it fit over his head the way I wanted it too.

DSCF6101

I put a double ribbed stitch at the beginning and the end and then folded them over and weaved them together. The one thing I would have done differently is.. well, not been so anxious about it. I couldn’t find my darning needle so instead I crocheted the sides together. It looks fine but I should have held out until I could get out to buy a new needle. But I didn’t. 

DSCF6103

Working with my hands has become something so natural. I feel strange sitting anywhere for any length of time without a project of some sort in hand. I have been crocheting for a few years now and love it. Knitting is something I’ve wanted to do but it just felt so much harder than crocheting… all that blocking, and swatching, and gauging… but after this post I really dug in my heels and sought people out who would watch and correct. I have come a long way since that post. My plans are that it will pay off this winter. But the truth is that every time I sit down to knit, I breathe a little deeper, listen to what’s around me, slow down my mind and relax. It really is one of the healthiest things for me (since I tend to be a little high-strung. 🙂 ). How do you prepare for a new season? Is there a craft or hobby that helps you relax? I love to hear the way others do things!

Hope there’s a happy Wednesday in your future! 

4 thoughts on “:: Looking Forward ::

  1. Look at that precious little guy, getting so big. Hat looks great! You are so talented Tabby 🙂 Love ya

Leave a Reply

