Oh February… you are so boring.

I think that no matter where you live or what the weather is like February is just plain boring. It’s this in between month, this lull that Winter gives, when all the excitement of the Holidays are over and now we just wait…. and wait, and wait, and…. wait. Then finally, after everyone (everyone meaning, my kids) are so bored they could fall over, spring suddenly pops up all around us. Things speed up, and life goes on. I don’t know about you in your world, but this is how it is around here almost every year.

So, I’ve made crafty goals for us this month, just to make passing the time maybe a little easier.

Here they are:

1. Chore List: We have a chore list and I believe it really helps Scarlet know what is expected of her. The one we have now is a little bit boring. This week, I found this one from Modern Kiddo. The one thing I’m going to add to it is images for each chore. Because she is so young, this will help her be able to work with the chart on her own without needing mama to read it.

2. Clay Beads: I have been thinking a lot about how my kids are perfect ages to really get into working with and manipulating clay. They have never worked with Salt Dough or anything like it, only play dough. I’m excited to make some necklaces! I found the recipe over at Craftzine.

3. Wall Hooks: I found these super amazing decoupaged wall hooks from Bloesem Kids. I am really excited about this. I think the kids will both really love creating their own creatures.

4. Working with Shapes: I am looking for lots of cool ideas for Adelai and Scarlet to create pictures out of shapes. Scarlet is really into naming shapes right now. I got the idea from Giddy Giddy.

To go along with our shape adventure, I saw over at Almost Unschoolers where they are using all their food boxes in the house for cutting shapes. Great idea!

5. February Packages: After reading Sara’s challenge to send some snail-mailed love to someone far away, it made me really realize how many friends Scarlet has who are far away. I may just take this on as part of the rhythm of our little schooling adventure. I mean really, who doesn’t LOVE getting mail. I know it would really help Scarlet with the concept of creating, making, and giving to others.

6. Growing Grass: I want to have some growing grass in the house for Spring. I would really like to do it in a clear container so the kids can see the roots and the growing process. I know it’s probably early to be growing stuff, but I’m going to try to hold out until the end of February. It will take two weeks to sprout, then we’ll give it some time to grow before Easter. I LOVE planting seeds! Here are the instructions I will be following from Salt and Chocolate.

Now, if we get all this done and it’s still February, I figure we should steal from someone else’s list of course. I came across this list from Let’s Explore. It’s downloadable as a PDF.

I will be posting about the outcome of these goals and what went well and what could have gone better.

I hope your February is full of fun!

One thought on “Oh February… you are so boring.

  1. Pingback: Beads and Bobbles « Roots & Wings

Leave a Reply

